In 2014, No Two Internets Are Alike

Posted: February 14, 2014 in Tech
Tags:

The internet is consolidated into huge sites and social networks, but that doesn’t mean it’s uniform. Welcome to life as a constant A/B test.

Actual photo of design teams A/B testing your profile page.

I have a few rarely used Twitter accounts connected to the Twitter app on my phone. Yesterday I opened one for the first time in a while, and saw something strange. Because those accounts are inactive, Twitter seems to be serving up a different, more newbie-friendly interface.

And not just one: On another little-used account, I got yet another posting interface. In addition to the main posting interface, there seem to be two newbie interfaces: one for accounts that mostly post text and one for accounts that are used mainly to post photos.

[I would like to clarify that my @AmazonDroneReal account is purely an ironic parody of a parody Twitter account. I demand that my reputation of not being a bad-parody-Twitter-account-maker remain intact during this discussion. Thank you.]

Compose screen for an actively used account


View Entire List ›

via IFTTT

Leave a comment