The Vortex by JaredWarren

Posted: January 28, 2015 in landscapes
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

[Best on black background] I suspect most who’ve visited the White Pocket area of Vermillion Cliffs National Monument are very familiar with this landmark. However, I don’t see many images of it, possibly because it’s a little challenging to photograph (at least I’ve felt that way; hard to isolate just the formation, excluding other distracting elements). I settled on the best composition I could come up with, and was very happy to have the setting sun light up the virga system in the background. The image is a 3-exposure “focus stack.”

This area is “otherworldly” to begin with, but to me this sandstone formation really calls to mind the idea of some kind of interstellar wormhole; a vortex connecting our world to some distant part of the universe. 😉

Follow?: FACEBOOK
Instagram: jaredwarrenphotography
Twitter: @jaredsphotos

http://bit.ly/1v4vzeT

Leave a comment