This Student Once Ate An Entire Wheel Of Cheese In Her Sleep

Posted: February 11, 2015 in food
Tags:

Sleepwalking is one thing. But sleepEATING is something else entirely.

This is Kate Archibald, a 20-year-old student at the University of Aberdeen, who eats in her sleep. So much so that she once ate an entire wheel of cheese.

This is Kate Archibald, a 20-year-old student at the University of Aberdeen, who eats in her sleep. So much so that she once ate an entire wheel of cheese.

The third-year philosophy student told The Tab she walks over to the fridge and, while still asleep, eats its contents.

“It was only when I woke up one morning surrounded by chocolate bar wrappers that I realised I must have been sleep-eating,” she says.

“One of my friends gave me a whole wheel of cheese and I managed to eat it during my sleep.”

She said she started eating the odd thing in her sleep while at boarding school, but this has escalated into what she terms “nocturnal eating disorder” (NED).

She said she used to take Adderall, a drug proscribed for ADHD, to combat her appetite.

HEMEDIA HEMEDIAStuart Maxwell

Archibald said she noticed she’d started to put on some weight as a result.

Archibald said she noticed she'd started to put on some weight as a result.

HEMEDIA HEMEDIAStuart Maxwell

“I've also being going to the gym a lot more. Before we googled NED, my mum criticised me saying that the gym wasn't helping and I still looked the same – I had no idea what was happening!” she said.

She's eaten through spaghetti bolognaise, toast, a big bar of chocolate bought by a flatmate's boyfriend as a gift and says she regularly has to replace her flatmates' food.

Archibald also said she’s done this trick at other people’s houses:

Archibald also said she's done this trick at other people's houses:

s3.amazonaws.com


View Entire List ›

via IFTTT

Leave a comment